First Company Visit!

5/14/2012

Today we had a lecture in Chinese economics, I learned a lot about the economy in China that I did not know before. I tried the tea they gave us for the first time, which is not on my favorite list, but hey at least I tried it. Next, three others and I ate at a Japanese and Korean restaurant. It was very rushed, but very delicious. I had sushi and pork dumplings. Then, we went to Tsinghua Solar, which was our first company visit. I didn’t know what to expect—going to a company in Beijing, China. I have visited a few companies in the U.S. so I didn’t know if it was going to be similar or different. It turned out it was somewhat different. Tsinghua Solar was fairly small and everyone was dressed in casual wear. At Tsinghua Solar we learned how they make special tubes that use the sun’s heat to heat the water in people’s homes. It was a very interesting presentation, but I was expecting it to be more professional, nonetheless I was still impressed by the technology. We got back earlier than normal, so Hilary and I went to La Bamba and ate pizza, which was not the most delicious compared to the pizza back home, but it was a nice attempt. 

Leave a comment